top of page
Search
  • @_FIBT

Follow up: Media Madness - Kroos, Bailey, Sarabia

Updated: May 20, 2019

We've been really pleased with the interaction we've been getting from the Football Index community, so much so that the replies to our latest blog on Media Madness form our next one! Some great suggestions came in for Summer holds, and that sparked a whole new conversation!



Then the thoughts of our roundtable traders:


TC

I like the Kroos shout and Bailey as a medium term hold in general.


DesiBallers

Kroos being a main hold?


TC

I think he has a lot of upsides. Proven PB winner that people will buy back into. Could be moving and get some MB. Could get more links to United for a nice sell opportunity too. But I haven’t bought in yet.


DesiBallers

PB wise no doubt, but if he agrees to stay to help in rebuilding the team then he's just a PB hold and not for the summer ain't he?


TC

If he comes out and says he’s staying yeah. If not he’ll likely get rumours. I just think it's a low risk outside shout.


FI Mane For Nothin'

I can see the appeal of Kroos but just don't like his fit for the current market trends.


He's very much an 'old favourite'. He is rapidly approaching the magical '30 - shit he's nearly dead' age. You need United links really to make that trade work. For all his PB quality his lack of goal threat will limit amount of attention he gains to casual markets.


BuzzBot

Kroos [£1.49] has 2 position wins with one star win. His 2018/19 PB average is 127.43 from 37 games. His top 5 scores this season have been 318, 204, 200, 195, 190. 1 goal, 5 assists. He has a 5.37% yield.


DesiBallers

To be honest I thought he had won more PB than that.


IW

Kroos may not get the push he has in previous years due to his age. Think Parejo and how he only gains traction after a win or big score. I believe we'll have a similar situation with Kroos this year.


Only 3 scores of 200+ is surprising


SOTD

I wouldn’t bother with Kroos at the moment, just not enough upside.


Tetleys

He's had a poor season PB wise, close but no cigar too many times. One that the increased numbers of players damages. Needs more goals.


TC

He has been unlucky with actual yield.


Fair enough, I’d be fighting a losing battle with sentiment I think.


FI Mane For Nothin'

Even for the more rational dividend chasers, he was a stupid price earlier this season. The data nerds got addicted to his regular 190s and ignored fact he was never winning. He was nearly £6 in old money. Was never worth that for me.


DesiBallers

It's been Real Madrid's fault more than his I think. He has been top for a while only for Real to lose it, he should've got more wins than that really.


TC

Not too bothered about my holds historically not winning as much as they should, it’s a variance game. Realise that caps your CA and sentiment though


FI Mane For Nothin'

Yes, the reward for being 'right' on Kroos PB-wise isn't appealing enough. In % terms.

Plus, you can't hold him long enough for the probabilities to play out.


TC

Think he’ll hit £1.70 or so at some point before the start of the season, whether thats due to a PB surge or rumours. But better places to get profit in my opinion.


FI Mane For Nothin'

I can't see the United rumour materialising either. He's not what they need and they've been stung too many times buying this type of player. Schweinsteiger, Matic, Schneiderlin, etc. I know Kroos is better than that lot but he's not exactly a high-octane destructive midfielder


IW

I like Bailey, I just wonder how long he will take to gain traction. I imagine if Brandt or Havertz leave then we'll see traders buy into him nearer the season.


FI Mane For Nothin'

We discussed Bailey before. I think he's got a big rise in him for the patient. Was looking really good under new manager before he got injured. Didn't get a single GWG this season so PB scores don't look as good as the reality.


Bailey fits the mould of a big riser due to still being 21 and being a mazy dribbler with goal threat.

TC: 👍🏼


IW

His upside is massive.


Apparently he has agreed to play for Jamaica if they let his brother play 🤦‍♂️


While Franklyn Mary and MDJ continued the chat on Twitter.


DP91 on IndexGain's Slack suggested Pablo Sarabia.

I can’t say I’ve been one to get on or punt at the ‘unlikely lot’ but I fancy Sarabia due to his £18m release clause & good G/A return. Obviously from an FI standpoint if he goes somewhere he can continue to score good PB he could be a great hold.

Frosties

Sarabia only has an £18m release clause? Absolute steal that!


TC

I also really like that Sarabia shout.


FI Mane For Nothin'

Sarabia I'm not so sure has value unless ends up in EPL. Any links to EPL? I saw a lot of Roma links earlier in season which put me off. At 27 he's the kind of player people will trade on a rational basis.


Frosties

Zero MB value unless he moves to the Premier League but what a player for that price.


TC

Small downside is my thinking.


FI Mane For Nothin'

Agree on lack of downside, probably that price at season start regardless of where he ends up.


Chris

Sarabia has been on my list for a few days, waiting to time my entry but I'm concerned there is so much transfer money in him.


---


Plenty of suggestions there for left-field MB shouts this summer, with some fantastic discussion around their pros and cons too.


Thank you for your feedback on the latest blog, it was never planned to run a follow up to the original post, but your great responses made it a no brainer!


If you've got a topic of conversation or question, feel free to suggest it to us on Twitter @_FIBT

66 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page