top of page
Search
  • @_FIBT

Roundtable: A reaction to the weekend's football!

A conversation which flowed from KDB and his price, to his lack of media appeal, on to Parejo and Thiago. Into IPDs and the apparent lack of movement over the weekend. And not someone calling someone else a bellend in sight!


SamF Can't believe Kevin De Bruyne still going. £4.10 now. Well over my sell price but sentiment seems to be so strongly with him and City have a lovely run of games...

....Plus Belgium

FI Mane For Nothin' I had 300 at £2.70 that day the app crashed on the new matrix. What a trade that could have been...


TC

Yep, I held and sold on the day of the Spurs game, what a bad sell that was!


Nick

I only managed to get 100 KDB on the matrix change day, still got 50.

SamF Holding 150 for now.

FI Mane For Nothin'

9 key passes in 1 game is still a freak performance even for KDB. He will experience a price correction at some point. It is a bit similar to when Kimmich got a bit over heated last year then had that savage crash after that one game.

DesiBallers KDB is the safest hold in my opinion, the matrix is made for him, they have got maybe the best fixtures, internationals coming up, so even if it is overheated by a bit, if he posts decent scores I don't see a major correction on him.

FI Mane For Nothin' Not sure I'd agree Desi. He has to do one helluva lot now to justify price. I also worry in soft games he will get subbed early.

DesiBallers Sterling is someone who needs to deliver a lot for his price. KDB can still deliver PB.

Frosties Lack of MB for KDB is a killer for his price. He is getting to the price where he needs to win 10 treble days to return 10%. I said he was overpriced at £3.50 - kind of wished I held but never saw this rise coming!

TC Most expensive PB-only player on the Index other than Havertz, and he's 28.

FI Mane For Nothin' If de bruyne wins same PB as Messi last year then his yield is still not great.Messi won 53p last year. So KDB has to do that to do not quite 15%. For a 28 year old you need 15% yields really.

TC He could get Balon d’Or MB if he plays out his skin.

DesiBallers I still think he's more worth than Eden Hazard now.

TC Think Hazard’s MB pull remains to be seen, I think they’re pretty similar until we know more.

DesiBallers Playing for a better team in a better league. Sadly it doesn't turn into MB.

FI Mane For Nothin' Balon d'Or would have to be next year. Also got to remember KDB is 6-8 goals a year kind of player.

SamF I agree he's overpriced but he's got 5 easy games in a row. If he picks up another PB there will be FOMO even at that price. £5 isn't impossible.

FI Mane For Nothin' Winning MB from assists and great performances alone at Man City is a tough tough ask. One of the all-time great midfield performances on Saturday. Nowhere near winning MB...

SamF He only gets MB for injuries.

FI Mane For Nothin' I agree with Sam in short-term though, especially with plenty of naive new traders in market who don't understand yields.

FI Mane For Nothin' But I do worry he won't post mega scores against these soft opponents.

DesiBallers Yup that was my point, don't think anyone is looking at holding him over the year.

FI Mane For Nothin' Because he is increasingly getting hooked when the game is won.

Pep has learned from over-playing him. If we are beating someone 3-0 he will get hooked at 75 minutes.

SamF I thought that Cox article [on The Athletic, via subscription] was good showing that playing him in that No10 position helped him get much more involved in play.


Did you catch @FINickLFC's tactical outlook on how KDB posted such a high score and how Spurs allowed him to? Check it out here >

DesiBallers Until their first international fixtures he is a must have for me.

FI Mane For Nothin' Yes but for a general non-goal scorer 90 mins is crucial. For example he won PB in the last minute on Saturday.

If I was holding KDB I would keep hold for reasons above but I would be tempted to sell a few pre-game. And I ain't buying in now at that price!

I still think Thiago wins more divs this year overall and is half the price. FI Mane For Nothin' The 90 mins thing will be even more crucial this season due to extra metrics.

The volume of points lost from getting hooked early is now greater. Particularly in that last 20 minutes when usually one team is chasing a goal and it's an open game with more key passes/etc.

DesiBallers What do you think Thiago might rise to considering he wins PB in the next two game weeks?

FI Mane For Nothin' Thiago is great value now IMO.

Tetleys A big score for Thiago and Parejo this weekend and they could fly. People are looking at that player type.

DesiBallers I'm done with Real Madrid for now, need to sort their team.

FI Mane For Nothin' But Thiago well capable of posting a few 250+ this season, and when he does they are usually back to back.

I'm emptying all my sell queue into Parejo at the moment.

Comparatively value on him is significant compared to Alejandro Gomez. Parejo is absolutely built for new matrix and Valencia should be better this season.

Chris TCC Rate my market sell on Thiago is going, I might have to wait for big score to sell him!

FI Mane For Nothin' Won a lot of divs for a bang average Valencia last season.

The sell-offs of Thiago and Demirbay last weekend were the daftest ones IMO.

Tetleys Parejo was the highest ranking midfielder both seasons of PB.


FI Mane For Nothin' Proper PB-quality players dumped after one average game.

You also have to remember Champs League draw will shift market dynamics.

With the double days against soft Russian oppos the likes of Thiago become a lot more appealing and that's where they do the business.

FI Mane For Nothin' Parejo scores last season an example of the patience required on PB folks. It was 12 games into season before Parejo clocked a decent score.

Chris TCC I just can’t be bothered to wait when I can get better % on IPDs / lower end.

FI Mane For Nothin' I was disappointed by lack of reaction to IPD at weekend Chris.

Chris TCC Lack of? It was huge?

FI Mane For Nothin' The spikes weren't as big as the spikes seen on those posting big PB scores.

Chris TCC Well not all huge you’re right and mainly lower end.

FI Mane For Nothin' All the big risers were youth/PB players rather than IPD.

Chris TCC But so much money had gone into IPDs already.

FI Mane For Nothin' E.g. Benzema got 2p of IPD and rose like 5p. Disappointing in my book.

Chris TCC But he’s risen loads already, and he’s old, always flattens IPD growth. If he keeps scoring he will continue to rise.

Tetleys A lot of the more predictable IPD's are expensive now for me. Remember before share split, it was players under £1? They are effectively £3 now.

Chris TCC Definitely

FI Mane For Nothin' 11:45 AM Yes, I consider £1 my sell point on the real reliable 25 goals a season players. (The ones who don't have anything else pushing their price e.g. youth/PB/transfers that is). So will flog Benzema when I'm out of my IPD window I think. Chris TCC But I think base prices have changed so much, people aren’t looking at rational returns % wise at moment... just who will rise for goals. I wonder when that changes?

Nick Price changes over the weekend Fri-Mon from IndexGain

FI Mane For Nothin' There's no IPD on there Nick is there really?

Chris TCC Most of them scored or assisted.

FI Mane For Nothin' But that's not motivated by IPD. Just hype.

Chris TCC Yes agreed. I guess I’m saying it’s goals and assist driving it, not necessarily what you can consider IPD holds.

Nick I wouldn't say no IPD totally, but certainly not much value in pure IPD. Martial for example.

FI Mane For Nothin' The same happened last year without IPD. Sabitzer possibly the only one there fuelled by IPD.

Chris TCC IPD lower end grew for sure, my risers are IPDs this week.

FI Mane For Nothin' I think you might actually need 3 goals and assists for a big hype rise on IPD now.

Nick Sabitzer scored 299.

FI Mane For Nothin' But Sabitzer score was recoreded after deadline, I think folks were motivated to pile in by the 4p discount.

Nick But still a huge PB score that will have got people excited and think he can replicate, while also getting a 4p discount.

FI Mane For Nothin' Agree. Surprised he held price though. 3 assists contributed massively to that 299. And he only got 3 assists whole of last season...

Nick 11:51 AM I think that says to me it's people wanting/expecting him to replicate that, if people were buying more for IPD, there would've been a drop by now.

FI Mane For Nothin' Think you might be right!


So much to digest and think about there, but let us know what you think. Whether it's on de Bruyne, Thiago, Parejo, IPDs, the market reactions to what we've discussed above! @_FIBT on Twitter!

118 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page