top of page
Search
  • @_FIBT

Roundtable: Where next for the new king Jadon Sancho?

Jadon Sancho recently sneaked to the top of the Index, taking the place of Paul Pogba and becoming the first played outside of Pogba or Neymar to top the Index since Lionel Messi way back in late September 2018. But what next?


IW Just thinking ahead, are we at all concerned that Sancho may see reduced starts or be subbed early more often?

Tetleys No.

Trading Bear I don't hold but, no.

Tetleys He's the man there [Dortmund].

Chris TCC Me neither.

TC I'm selling off some Sancho purely for percentages.

Chris TCC Seen as a potential player of season if he can continue this form.

IW Agree but with Brandt and Thorgan now there it's a possibility.

TC Huge score at the weekend, don't see what news can cause a rise. His rise came too early for me to justify holding.

Tetleys The last 10 minutes of the game told me what I needed to know. Dortmund were just holding the ball, toying with Augsburg and running down the clock, but Sancho was everywhere picking off little passes in triangles, trusted implicitly with the ball.

Chris TCC I think he continues to rise, assuming he doesn’t suddenly lose form.

IW Where do you all see his pre Christmas ceiling?

Chris TCC Sancho getting a lot of social media shares too.

Tetleys I'm not arsed if he doesn't rise too much, I'm all about the summer with him. He's basically a hold and top up on any drips. Probably my only untouchable player barring serious injury. However, I appreciate everyones port size and tactics are different.

IW I've become a lot more open to moving in and out of premiums.

Nick By the same logic that people are nervous on Pogba moving on and that holds him back slightly, there should be the opposite effect on Sancho that he’s building up for a move back.

Tetleys Exactly.

IW Sancho is a tough one for me because I like to have a decent amount of medium term upside and I'm not 100% sure he has much. But then he could be like Neymar last year. We thought he was at peak and he just kept going and going and going.

Tetleys He could be the first bonafide superstar to come to the Premier League for years, and the fact he's homegrown is huge. I can't even think of who the last superstar was. Pogba? Was he a superstar?

IW Completely agree I'm just considering trading out for a month or 2 then back in to maximise ROI.

Tetleys I'd never be able to do that, I'd find it hard to spend so much in one go on one player, if that makes sense. I'd be distracted by other cheaper players (a failing on my part).

Nick He’s one Im just leaving with the amount that I have. I don’t wanna be off him in case he goes further as people plan further ahead and new users will be lapping him up.


I think we’re going to see a build up of his media appeal over this season despite being abroad too. At the Euros creep closer, the press will be looking for a poster boy. He’s ready made.

Tetleys People here at work are talking about him for the first time as though he's just landed.

Colleagues: "Have you heard of this kid, Jayden Sanchez or something?"

Me: "Yeah, I've got a bit of money invested in him!"

SamF With enough United and Liverpool speculation and maybe the odd PB I can see him at £10 when the Euros start.


I still can't believe City didn't put in a buyback clause. Ranks alongside the guy who failed to sign The Beatles. £20m buyback clause for a £200m player...

Tetleys If he performs again this season, then it will be hard for both Manchester clubs and Liverpool to not be seen to be in for him.

Where do you see Sancho going next? Will he top the Index for the foreseeable future or will he interchange with Pogba and Neymar? Will he move back to the Premier League next summer? Let us know your thoughts on Twitter @_FIBT

82 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page